Skip to Main Content

Advising

All music majors and music minors (including transfer students) must be accepted to the Department of Music by audition.

Questions: music@boisestate.edu

Academic Advising for Undergraduate Music Majors and Minors

Advisors are assigned according to your major. Majors with a large number of students are further divided by last name or by specialty, so please be sure to contact the correct advisor. Under each major, you will also find documents that can assist you in planning your progress toward completing a music degree. A degree checksheet lists all the catalog requirements for your major in a grid format that allows you to fill in your completed and planned courses by semester. Click here for a sample completed checksheet and instructions on how to prepare for and advising appointment. A suggested course sequence shows a sequence of classes that you could follow to complete the degree in four years. While the exact sequence of classes will vary for each student, the recommended plan shows a roadmap that meets prerequisite requirements and properly arranges courses that are only offered once a year in fall or spring semesters.

Students should know their catalog year (usually the year your entered the university) in order to select the appropriate advising documents. The university implemented a new general studies curriculum beginning in Fall 2012 called the Foundational Studies Program (FSP). For students using catalog years up to and including 2011-2012, use the document links under your major labeled “Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program).” For students using catalog years from 2012-2013 and later, use the document links under your major labeled “Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program).” It is very important to be clear about which requirements you are following when working with your advisor.

Advising Information by Major

Music Education


Last Names A – L: Dr. James Jirak – 208.426.4101, jjirak@boisestate.edu, MCC 202.1


Last Names M – Z: Dr. Leslie Moreau – 208.426.4182, lesliemoreau@boisestate.edu, MCC 209


Music education majors, click here to visit the Music Education: Current Undergraduates page for further detailed advising information and documents.


Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program)
Music Education Degree Checksheet     Recommended plan of studyMusic Education Degree Checksheet 12-13     Suggested Course Sequence

Music Performance


Voice: Dr. Lynn Berg – 208.426.1954, lberg@boisestate.edu, MCC 313

Keyboard: Dr. Del Parkinson – 208.426.3300, dparkins@boisestate.edu, MCC 310

Instrumental, Last Names A – Z: Dr. Brian Hodges – 208.426.4861, brianhodges@boisestate.edu, MCC 204
Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program)
Music Performance Degree Checksheet (All emphasis areas)     Music Performance Recommended plans of study:
Music Performance Degree Checksheet 12-13 (All emphasis areas)      Suggested Course Sequence:

Music Composition


Dr. Eric Alexander – 208.426.1133, ericalexander@boisestate.edu, MCC 306
Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program)
Music Composition Degree Checksheet     Music Composition Recommended plan of studyMusic Composition Degree Checksheet 12-13     Music Composition Suggested Course Sequence

Music / Business (BA)


Dr. Linda Kline – 208.426.3665, lkline@boisestate.edu, MCC 208
Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 through 2014-2015 (Foundations Program) *note: students entering in 2015-16 catalog years and beyond will, unfortunately, no longer be able to select this major
Download the Music / Music / Business (BA) Business Advising PacketMusic / Business (BA) Degree Checksheet 12-13     Music / Business (BA) Suggested Course Sequence

Music General (BA)


Dr. Nicole Molumby – 208.426.1217, nicolemolumby@boisestate.edu, MCC 206
Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program)
Music General (BA) Degree Checksheet     Music General (BA) Recommended plan of studyMusic General (BA) Degree Checksheet 12-13     Music General (BA) Suggested Course Sequence

Music Minor


Dr. Sarah Paradis – 208.426.3665, sarahparadis@boisestate.edu, MCC 215
Advising Documents: Catalog Years through 2011-2012 (Core Program)Advising Documents: Catalog Years 2012-2013 and later (Foundations Program)
Music Minor checksheetMusic Minor checksheet

Advising and approval for transfer adjustments only (go through primary advisor first)

Dr. Linda Kline, Interim Chair – 208-426-3665, lkline@boisestate.edu, MCC 103

Graduate Advising (all Master of Music Degrees)

Dr. Jeanne Belfy – 208.426.1216, jbelfy@boisestate.edu, MCC 309

Steinway School